https://www.flickr.com/photos/flguardian2/6849866709

FL’s Back-To-School Sales Tax Holiday

back2school18againThis Friday starts Florida’s 2018 Back-To-School Sales Tax Holiday three-day weekend. Many products and items will be tax-free August 3rd – 5th, 2018 at most major retail stores. The August holiday is designed to help ease the cost of getting children back into the classroom with clothes that fit and backpacks full of necessary supplies. Team JB helped push this legislation through the legislature for the past few years during session in order to help Floridians and their families during this busy time of year. Tax doesn’t apply to the retail sale of the following items with a sales price of $60.00 or less: bags (i.e., backpacks, diaper bags, fanny packs, and etc.), clothing, footwear, and wallets. The following items don’t qualify for the exemption: accessories (i.e., jewelry, handkerchiefs, watches, and wristbands), briefcases, garment bags, suitcases, rollerblades, skates, skis, swim fins, umbrellas, and etc. The exemption also applies to school supplies with a sales price of $15.00 or less. Qualifying items include, but aren’t limited to: calculators, compasses, protractors, rulers, crayons, pencils, pens, cellophane tape, glue, paste, composition books, legal pads, notebooks, filler paper, computer disks, poster board, poster paper, scissors, and etc. Qualifying items purchased at an airport, entertainment complex, theme park, or public lodging establishment aren’t eligible for the exemption. While participation in this sales tax holiday is mandatory for most businesses, it’s voluntary for retailers if less than 5% of their gross sales of tangible personal property in the prior calendar year were qualifying items. Such retailers may opt to participate but must notify the Florida Department of Revenue of their intention to do so, in writing, by August 1, 2018. They must also “post a copy of that notice in a conspicuous location” at the place of business. In addition to these two sales tax holidays, the state is exempting any equipment to generate emergency electric energy at a nursing home facility that is purchased between July 1, 2017, and December 31, 2018. This exemption is limited to a maximum of $15,000.00 in tax for the purchase of equipment for any single facility. Qualifying purchases made prior to the enactment of House Bill 7087 – Taxation – 2018 are eligible for a sales tax refund. Businesses should contact the Department of Revenue for more details. More information can be found at floridarevenue.com/backtoschool.

More Posts